Elana Boiskin, Jewish Chaplaincy Program Community Initiative

Elana Boiskin Among Jewish Communal Professionals Awarded an MA in Jewish Professional Studies at Spertus Institute Graduation

Elana Boiskin, former Jewish Chaplaincy Program Coordinator of JCFS was presented the distinguished Master of Arts in Jewish Professional Studies (MAJPS) at Spertus Institute for Jewish Learning and Leadership’s commencement ceremony on December 9, 2018. Elana was among 17 Jewish communal professionals and scholars from across North America who were also awarded this prestigious degree.

Elana and her classmates, all of whom represented different Jewish communal institutions, were part of a small-group cohort that teaches participants how to make a positive impact on the Jewish community by advancing their skills and knowledge. “As Jewish community chaplaincy is a new and growing professional field, I wanted to explore the emergence of the field and current trends,” says Elana about her Capstone project, titled Jewish Community Chaplaincy: Emergence, Current Trends and Conclusions.

With Jewish Chaplaincy Programs colleague Rabbi Dr. Joseph Ozarowski advising her on her master’s thesis, Elana researched books and articles as well as interviewed heads of Jewish community chaplaincy programs around the country. “It has taken two-and-a-half-years to complete the degree and I believe I have gained Jewish Studies, leadership and management skills that I have been able to bring to the Jewish Chaplaincy Program. In addition to the skills I have gained, it has been a great journey for me and has resulted in personal growth, especially going back to school later in life with a family and professional commitments,” adds Elana, who was also a student speaker at the graduation.

Offered in small-group cohorts between 12 -18 students, the MAJPS program is a globally renowned educational opportunity to connect with other Jewish communal professionals and enrich participants’ skills and knowledge. Citywide cohorts are offered throughout the United States, Canada and Israel.